Jump to Main Content
Regular Faculty

[All Faculty] - [Regular Faculty] - [Postdocs/Adjuncts/Visitors] - [Areas] - [Office Hours]

hr

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A

Abbas, Casim, Associate Professor of Mathematics, Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., ETH Zürich, Switzerland, 1997
Office: C215 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4650   Email: abbas@math.msu.edu
Research: Symplectic and contact geometry, Hamiltonian dynamics

Akbulut, Selman, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1975
Office: C335 WH
Phone: (517) 353-7997   Email: akbulut@math.msu.edu
Research: Geometric topology, topology of real algebraic varieties

Allen, Susan Friedlinde, Instructor
M.S., Western Michigan University, 1987
Office: C229 WH
Phone: (517) 355-9694   Email: allen@math.msu.edu

Top of Page

hr

B

Bao, Gang, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Rice University, 1991
Office: D318 WH
Phone: (517) 432-7743   Email: bao@math.msu.edu
Research: Applied mathematics, numerical analysis, inverse & optimal design problems,optics & electromagnetics

Bates, Peter William, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Utah, 1976
Office: D211 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4875   Email: bates@math.msu.edu
Research: Infinite-dimensional dynamical systems, nonlinear elliptic and parabolic PDE, phase transitions

Bell, Robert W, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., The Ohio State University, 2003
Office: C305 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4485   Email: rbell@math.msu.edu
Research: Geometric Group Theory

Bieda, Kristen Nicole, Assistant Professor (T E)
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison, 2008
Phone: (517) 432-9925   Email: kbieda@msu.edu

Top of Page

hr

C

Chadwick, Brian R, Advising Specialist
MA, Michigan State University, 2004
Office: C221 WH
Phone: (517) 353-5019   Email: bchadwick@math.msu.edu

Chen, Tianran, Research Instructor
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 2012
Office: C201 WH
Phone: (517) 884-1500   Email: chentia1@msu.edu

Cheng, Yingda, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Brown University, 2007
Office: D316 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4671   Email: ycheng@math.msu.edu
Research: Numerical analysis, scientific computing, applied mathematics

Chiu, Chichia C, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Carnegie-Mellon University, 1987
Office: C205 WH
Phone: (517) 432-1618   Email: chiu@math.msu.edu
Research: Mathematical biology

Christlieb, Andrew Jason, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2001
Office: D319 WH
Phone: (517) 353-3831   Email: christlieb@math.msu.edu
Research: Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computing and Transport Theory

Cioni, Julie E, Instructor
M.S., Michigan State University, 2000
Office: C235 WH
Phone: (517) 353-1915   Email: cionijul@msu.edu

Cohen, Albert, Teaching Specialist, Asst. Director of Actuarial Science
Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University, 2007
Office: C336 WH
Phone: (517) 355-4592   Email: albert@math.msu.edu
Research: Application of Probability to PDE's. Grain Growth. Optimal Stopping and Stochastic control

Courtney, John Alan, Assistant to the Chair of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 1993
Office: D203 WH
Phone: (517) 355-5277   Email: courtney@math.msu.edu
Research: Finite difference, finite element, Monte Carlo methods for transport equations

Top of Page

hr

D

Drachman, Alexander M, Assistant Instructor of Mathematics
M.A., Eastern Michigan University, 1996
Office: C131 WH
Phone: (517) 353-0844   Email: adrachma@math.msu.edu

Top of Page

hr

F

Fintushel, Ronald A, University Distinguished Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., State University of New York, Binghamton, 1975
Office: D218 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8146   Email: ronfint@math.msu.edu
Research: 4-dimensional manifolds, gauge theory

Francsics, Gabor, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Rutgers University, 1992
Office: D310 WH
Phone: (517) 353-7962   Email: francsics@math.msu.edu
Research: Partial Differential Equations, Several Complex Variables, Complex Hyperbolic Spaces, Financial Math

Top of Page

hr

G

Gerhardt, Teena M, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., MIT, 2007
Office: D322 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4693   Email: teena@math.msu.edu
Research: Algebraic Topology and Algebraic K-theory

Griffin, Sharon V, Teaching Specialist
M.S., Clemson University, 1989
Office: C545 WH
Phone: (517) 353-7821   Email: griffin@math.msu.edu

Top of Page

hr

H

Hall, Jonathan I, Professor of Mathematics
D.Phil., University of Oxford, England, 1974
Office: D219 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4653   Email: jhall@math.msu.edu
Research: Group theory, combinatorics, incidence geometry, algebraic coding theory

Hedden, Matthew Edward, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Columbia University, 2005
Office: D325 WH
Phone: (517) 353-0881   Email: mhedden@math.msu.edu
Research: Floer homology, low-dimensional manifolds, knot theory, gauge theory, symplectic geometry

Hensh, Richard John, Assistant to the Chair of Mathematics
M.S., Michigan State University, 1989
Office: D201 WH
Phone: (517) 432-3591   Email: hensh@math.msu.edu

Hu, Huyi, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Arizona, 1993
Office: D307 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8497   Email: hu@math.msu.edu
Research: Dynamical systems and ergodic theory

Top of Page

hr

I

Ivanov, Nikolai, Professor of Mathematics
Doctor of Sci., Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow, 1988
Office: D220 WH
Phone: (517) 432-3585   Email: ivanov@math.msu.edu
Research: Low dimensional topology, Algebraic topology, Riemann surfaces, Hyperbolic geometry

Iwen, Mark A, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2008
Office: C342 WH
Phone: (517) 353-6880   Email: markiwen@math.msu.edu
Research: computational harmonic analysis, analysis of high dimensional and massive data sets

Top of Page

hr

K

Kadyrova, Irina Inoyaiovna, Teaching Specialist
Ph.D., Institute of Mathematics of National Academy of Science of Ukraine, 1978
Office: C333 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4680   Email: kadyrova@math.msu.edu
Research: Differential Equations with random functions

Kalfagianni, Efstratia, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Columbia University, 1995
Office: D323 WH
Phone: (517) 353-6333   Email: kalfagia@math.msu.edu
Research: Low dimensional topology; knot theory, 3-manifolds

Keller, Brin A, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Western Michigan University, 1993
Office: D215 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8490   Email: brin@math.msu.edu
Research: Curriculum, Technology, Algebra and Symbols, Integrated Mathematics and Science

Kulkarni, Rajesh Shrikrishna, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington, 1999
Office: D303 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8145   Email: kulkarni@math.msu.edu
Research: Algebra, algebraic geometry, number theory

Top of Page

hr

L

Lamm, Patricia K, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Brown University, 1981
Office: D324 WH
Phone: (517) 353-3746   Email: lamm@math.msu.edu
Research: Inverse and ill-posed problems

Lappan, Glenda, University Distinguished Professor of Mathematics, Connected Math Project
Ed.D., University of Georgia, Athens, 1965
Office: C718 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4657   Email: glappan@math.msu.edu
Research: Teaching, student learning, and curriculum

Leefers, Rebecca May, Instructor
M.S., Michigan State University, 1981
Office: C233 WH
Phone: (517) 355-5278   Email: leefers@math.msu.edu

Levin, Aaron D, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2005
Office: C308 WH
Phone: (517) 353-0693   Email: adlevin@math.msu.edu
Research: Diophantine approximation and geometry, value distribution theory

Li, Tien Yien, University Distinguished Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1974
Office: C324 WH
Phone: (517) 353-3836   Email: li@math.msu.edu
Research: Dynamical systems, numerical analysis

Liu, Di, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Princeton University, 2003
Office: D217 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8143   Email: richardl@math.msu.edu
Research: Stochastic analysis, Partial Differential Equations, Numerical methods

Ludden, Gerald D, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame, 1965
Office: D302 WH
Phone: (517) 353-6335   Email: ludden@math.msu.edu

Top of Page

hr

M

Magyar, Peter Matthew, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1993
Office: D326 WH
Phone: (517) 353-6330   Email: magyar@math.msu.edu
Research: Combinatorics of Lie groups and their representations, flag and Schubert varieties

Mccarthy, John D, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Columbia University, 1983
Office: C228 WH
Phone: (517) 353-7996   Email: mccarthy@math.msu.edu
Research: surface mapping class groups, symplectic topology

Mccollum, Thomas Christopher, Instructor
M.S., Michigan State University, 2011
Office: C338 WH
Phone: (517) 353-0839   Email: mccoll31@math.msu.edu
Research: Actuarial Science

Meierfrankenfeld, Ulrich, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Bielefeld, Germany, 1986
Office: C206 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4487   Email: meier@math.msu.edu
Research: Group theory

Miklavcic, Milan, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 1981
Office: C231 WH
Phone: (517) 353-5086   Email: milan@math.msu.edu
Research: PDE, applied mathematics, numerical analysis

Moradifam, Amir, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of British Columbia, 2010
Phone: (517) 353-0844   Email: amir@math.msu.edu
Research: Inverse Problems, Partial Differential Equations, Medical Imaging

Top of Page

hr

N

Nelson, Nancy L, Instructor
M.A., MSU, 1977
Office: C309 WH
Phone: (517) 352-3483   Email: nelson@math.msu.edu

Newhouse, Sheldon E, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1969
Office: D311 WH
Phone: (517) 355-9684   Email: newhouse@math.msu.edu
Research: Orbit structure of vector fields and diffeomorphims of manifolds

Top of Page

hr

P

Pappas, Georgios, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Columbia University, New York, 1992
Office: D306 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4655   Email: pappas@math.msu.edu
Research: Arithmetic algebraic geometry, number theory

Parker, Thomas H, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1980
Office: C346 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8493   Email: parker@math.msu.edu
Research: Geometric analysis

Peller, Elena, Instructor
Ph.D., Rostov State University, 1998
Office: C331 WH
Phone: (517) 884-1519   Email: epeller@math.msu.edu

Peller, Vladimir, Professor of Mathematics
D. Sci, Steklov Inst. of Mathematics, Leningrad, 1985
Office: C203 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8144   Email: peller@math.msu.edu
Research: Hankel and Toeplitz operators, noncommutative analysis, Schur multipliers, stationary processes

Phillips, Elizabeth A, Senior Teaching Specialist, Connected Math Project
Phone: (517) 353-3835   Email: ephillip@math.msu.edu

Powers, Jennifer Sue, Instructor
M.S., Western Michigan University, 1998
Office: C232 WH
Phone: (517) 432-8432   Email: powers@math.msu.edu

Powers, Ronald William, Assistant to the Director of UG Studies
M.S., Western Michigan University, 1997
Office: C222 WH
Phone: (517) 432-1007   Email: rpowers@math.msu.edu

Promislow, Keith S, Professor of Mathematics, Chair of the Department of Mathematics
Ph.D., Indiana University, 1991
Office: D212 WH
Phone: (517) 432-7135   Email: kpromisl@math.msu.edu
Research: Nonlinear PDE and Material Science

Top of Page

hr

Q

Qian, Jianliang, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Rice University, 2000
Office: C306 WH
Phone: (517) 353-6334   Email: qian@math.msu.edu
Research: Applied math, scientific computing, numerical analysis

Top of Page

hr

R

Rotthaus, Christel, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Muenster, Germany, 1975
Office: D321 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8498   Email: rotthaus@math.msu.edu
Research: Commutative algebra, algebraic geometry

Top of Page

hr

S

Sagan, Bruce E, Professor of Mathematics, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1979
Office: C312 WH
Phone: (517) 355-8329   Email: sagan@math.msu.edu
Research: Enumerative & algebraic combinatorics, representation theory, graph theory

Schenker, Jeffrey Hudson, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Princeton, 2002
Office: D221 WH
Phone: (517) 432-3590   Email: jeffrey@math.msu.edu
Research: Mathematical Physics

Schmidt, Benjamin I, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2006
Office: D214 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8484   Email: schmidt@math.msu.edu

Schwab, Russell, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2009
Office: C334 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4486   Email: rschwab@math.msu.edu
Research: Partial Differential Equations

Senk, Sharon L, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1983
Office: D320 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4691   Email: senk@math.msu.edu
Research: Curriculum, instruction & assessment in secondary schools; mathematics teacher education

Shapiro, Michael, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Moscow State University, 1993
Office: D226 WH
Phone: (517) 353-9248   Email: mshapiro@math.msu.edu
Research: Moduli spaces, cluster algebras, total positivity and real algebraic geometry

Sikorskii, Pavel, Senior Teaching Specialist, Executive Associate Director of the UG Program
M.S., Michigan State University, 1996
Office: C220 WH
Phone: (517) 355-9683   Email: sikorskii@math.msu.edu

Sreedharan, V P, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Carnegie Institute of Technology, 1961
Office: D315 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8142   Email: sreed@math.msu.edu

Top of Page

hr

T

Tang, Moxun, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Alberta, Canada, 1996
Office: C230 WH
Phone: (517) 353-8488   Email: tang@math.msu.edu
Research: Nonlinear elliptic equations, reaction-diffusion systems, and mathematical biology

Top of Page

hr

U

Uriarte-Tuero, Ignacio, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Yale University, 2004
Office: D317 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4672   Email: ignacio@math.msu.edu
Research: Quasiconformal maps, harmonic and complex analysis, singular integrals, geometric measure theory

Top of Page

hr

V

Valdez, Emiliano, Professor of Mathematics, Director of Actuarial Science
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison, 1998
Office: C337 WH
Phone: (517) 353-6332   Email: valdezea@math.msu.edu
Research: Actuarial Science

Vaninsky, Kirill L, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., New York University, 1993
Office: C314 WH
Phone: (517) 353-6339   Email: vaninsky@math.msu.edu
Research: Mathematical Physics

Volberg, Alexander L, University Distinguished Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Leningrad University, Russia, 1982
Office: D314 WH
Phone: (517) 353-6884   Email: volberg@math.msu.edu
Research: Harmonic analysis, singular integrals, operator theory

Top of Page

hr

W

Wald, Jeanne, Professor of Mathematics, Associate Chair of the Department of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, 1979
Office: D209 WH
Phone: (517) 884-4668   Email: wald@math.msu.edu
Research: Noncommutative ring theory

Wang, Chang Yi, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1966
Office: C322 WH
Phone: (517) 353-3837   Email: cywang@math.msu.edu
Research: Fluid mechanics, perturbation theory, biomathematics

Wang, Xiaodong, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Stanford University, 2001
Office: D202 WH
Phone: (517) 353-5414   Email: xwang@math.msu.edu
Research: Differential Geometry and Geometric Analysis

Wang, Yang, Professor of Mathematics (On leave)
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1990
Office: D205 WH
Phone: (517) 884-1518   Email: ywang@math.msu.edu

Wang, Zhenqi, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Office: C310 WH
Phone: (517) 353-9690   Email: wangzq@math.msu.edu

Wei, Guowei, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of British Columbia, 1996
Office: D301 WH
Phone: (517) 353-4689   Email: wei@math.msu.edu
Research: Mathematical biology, Applied mathematics, Numerical analysis

Weiss, Michael K, Assistant Professor (TE)
Office: 223 NKL
Phone: (517) 353-0844   Email: mweiss@msu.edu

Wolfson, Jon G, Professor of Mathematics, Associate Chair of the Department of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1982
Office: D213 WH
Phone: (517) 353-5172   Email: wolfson@math.msu.edu
Research: Geometric analysis, pde, variational problems

Wu, Peiru, Director of PSM in Industrial Mathematics
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1991
Office: C328 WH
Phone: (517) 353-3839   Email: peiruw@math.msu.edu
Research: Industrial Mathematics

Top of Page

hr

Y

Yan, Baisheng, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1993
Office: D308 WH
Phone: (517) 353-9692   Email: yan@math.msu.edu
Research: Calculus of variations, partial differential equations, nonlinear elasticity, and applications

Top of Page

hr

Z

Zeidan, Vera Michel, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of British Columbia, Canada, 1982
Office: D312 WH
Phone: (517) 353-0857   Email: zeidan@math.msu.edu
Research: Calculus of variations and optimal control

Zhan, Dapeng, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 2004
Office: C327 WH
Phone: (517) 353-3838   Email: zhan@math.msu.edu
Research: Probability, Statistical lattice models, SLE

Zhou, Zhengfang, Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., New York University, 1986
Office: D210 WH
Phone: (517) 353-6744   Email: zfzhou@math.msu.edu
Research: Partial differential equations and mathematical physics

Zimmerman, Jane Kathleen, Teaching Specialist, Manager of the Math Learning Center
MS, Ferris State University, 2009
Office: C126 WH
Phone: (517) 884-7414   Email: zimmerman@math.msu.edu